Hamilton Island Australian Yachting Championship

Yachting Australia is pleased to announce the inaugural 2016 Australian Yachting Championship will be heading to Hamilton Island.

2016 Hamilton Island Australian Yachting Championship

The premier national yachting series returns to Hamilton Island and the Hamilton Island Yacht Club in 2016 as part of Audi Hamilton Island Race Week. HIYC last hosted the championship in 2012 and history was created at that event when Marcus Blackmore took out the championship with his TP52 Hooligan, making it back-to-back wins following his success in 2011. His was the first boat in 29 years to win successive championships.

The fleet will be broken down into classes allowing similar-sized yachts and multihulls to compete in their relevant division and offering fairer racing over the scheduled nine race series.

Yachting Australia president Matt Allen believes Hamilton Island Yacht Club hosting the 2016 series will strengthen and grow the event.  “The Australian Yachting Championship will be a linchpin of racing in this country and a showpiece in the Yachting Australia events calendar. Yachting Australia is delighted to  be partnering with Hamilton Island.

Glenn Bourke, Hamilton Island CEO, welcomes the Australian Yachting Championship  to Hamilton Island and extends an open invitation to all IRC, ORCi and OMR rated boats to “come and compete in the Whitsundays this August and fight it out for the honour of being the premier racing teams.